Hannah’s Lesson for Everyday

2

December 16, 2012 by lizforanimals

Hello friends. I would like to talk to you about something really important! Call it, The Lesson for Today, but really it’s a lesson for everyday! Last night, whilst out on my evening walk, my mum and I had a very close call. It was dark, so of course I was wearing my little bright light, because I’m black and very difficult to see when it’s dark out. We were crossing the street, in a crosswalk, when a car almost hit my mum! Thank goodness mum is super careful when crossing the street and always makes sure that I am right beside her! I’ve seen my brothers and sisters on those really long leashes, I think they’re called Flexi-leashes, and sometimes they’re way ahead of their people when crossing the street. Well let me just say, if I had been on one of those leashes and not been right beside my mum, I wouldn’t be here today to write this! So here’s my lesson for all my brothers and sisters out there:

1) Make sure your person buys you a bright light or something reflective so that you are more easily seen at nighttime.

Reflective vest that Mum found at a dollar store.

Reflective vest that Mum found at a dollar store.

My raincoat has reflective strips on it!

My raincoat has reflective strips on it!

2) Always walk right beside your person when crossing the street, no matter what kind of leash you might have.

3) Be alert and aware of your surroundings, especially around cars (I’ve seen guardians busy on their phones or listening to music, so you need to be vigilant even when they’re not).

4) Above all, be safe, be seen and have fun!

Can you see me??? No...but you can see my little red light!!!

Can you see me??? No…but you can see my little red light!!!

That’s it! That’s my lesson for today and everyday!

With a little more light you can actually see ME!

With a little more light you can actually see ME!

2 thoughts on “Hannah’s Lesson for Everyday

  1. kipu13 says:

    this is so cute! and very helpful! thank you hannah!

  2. Nicole says:

    Such well written blogs!! Keep fighting for animal rights and raising awareness! So proud to call you my friend. Xo
    Nic

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright © Liz Craik 2012

All blog content Registered & Protected by MyFreeCopyright.com If you wish to use any of my material, please quote me as the source and/or ask my permission to use it.
eileenanddogs

What my dogs teach me

kitwocky

Mama. Vegan. Writer. Activist. Lover of Life.

Fins and Fluke Blog

Marine life welfare and environmental health preservation

Protection 4 Animals - Worldwide

Protecting, Rescuing, Rehabilitation of all Animals and Conservation of Wildlife. Campaigning Against Animal Cruelty, Torture, Abuse, BloodSports and Hunting.

Sled Dog Watchdog's Blog

Independent advocate for sled dogs (slave dogs)

BarkUpToday

Dogs USDAA Fido Friendly Animal Wellness World Cynosport Rally

Baggy Bulldogs

a place to share the Bulldog Love

Vancouver Animal Rights Campaigns (VARK)

Activists Uniting For The Benefit of Animals

End of the Icons

Please support our International Day of Action with your photo! #SaveLeuserEcosystem www.endoftheicons.org

Everything Worth Knowing...

...I learned from my dog!

Loki's Gift

a blog to help dogs in Canada's far north

Action For Earth

No animal should be killed

Canine Crazy

For dog addicts everywhere

Our Compass

Because justice directs us ...

The Wildlife Portal's Blog

Wildlife snippets with Jake Willers

Paws for Hope Animal Foundation

Creating a better world for animals and their guardians